Fitness Test Measurements and Standards

Physical Fitness Test Measurements

There are five physical fitness tests that will be given in one day as a battery of tests.

1.5-Mile Run

This measures aerobic power or cardiovascular endurance (the ability to have stamina over time). The test consists of running / walking 1.5 miles as fast as possible.  You must complete the 1.5 miles in 15:44 minutes or less to pass.

300-Meter Run

This measures anaerobic power or the ability to make an intense burst of effort for a short time period or distance. The test consists of sprinting 300 meters as fast as possible.  You must complete the 300 meter sprint in 82 seconds or less to pass.

Maximum Push-Up Test

This measures the muscular endurance of the upper body. The test consists of doing 25 push-ups from the front, lean, and rest position with no time limit.  You must rest in the up position and if at anytime your knee touches the ground the exercise is stopped an no additional reps will be allowed.

Vertical Jump Test

This measures leg power. The test consists of using a Vertex to measure how high you jump from a standing position.  You must jump with a vertical of 13 inches or higher to pass.

One Minute Sit-Up Test

This measures the abdominal or trunk muscular endurance. Laying on the ground you will be given one minute to complete 30 bent-leg sit-ups.  You may rest in the up position but not lying down on the ground.

Fitness Test Standards

You will be given the tests in the following sequence. There will be rest periods between each event. Each test is scored separately and you must meet the standard on each and every test. The standards are as follows:

Test   Standard
Vertical Jump  13 inches
300-Meter Run 82 seconds
Push-ups  25
One-Minute Sit-Ups  30
1.5-Mile Run  15:44